Our network

Local Man Named Maryland’s Truck Driver of the Year | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Local Man Named Maryland’s Truck Driver of the Year
Local Man Named Maryland’s Truck Driver of the Year

The following information was sent to us by Lisa Holley:


Maryland Motor Truck Association (MMTA) named Washington County-resident Paul B. Eberly of Hahn Transportation (New Market) as its 2011 Driver of the Year at its annual Driver of the Month/Year Awards Banquet at Snyder's Willow Grove on January 16, 2012. 


Paul has over 38 years of truck driving experience and has driven over 5 million accident-free miles during his career.  Paul was selected as the Driver of the Year for both his exceptional safety record and his other accomplishments, such as being actively engaged in mentoring drivers at his company;


Paul was among 12 professional drivers whose safe driving records and professional conduct earned them honors as Maryland Drivers of the Month.  Drivers from across the state were nominated by their employers for this recognition.  A committee of MMTA’s Safety Management Council, in conjunction with the Maryland State Police Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division, made the final selections from a pool of many worthy candidates.  A full list of the drivers of the month is available atwww.mmtanet.com/files/2011driversofthemonth.pdf.


The safety records of the Drivers of the Month are inspiring - a total of more than 27 million safe miles traveled with 386 years of experience.  Each Driver of the Month received a plaque and a custom jacket in recognition of his achievement.  Mr. Eberly was also presented with numerous gifts and citations from various organizations including:  the Maryland Department of Transportation, Maryland State Police, Maryland Transportation Authority Police, and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. 


MMTA also presented numerous other awards recognizing contributions to promote safe driving in Maryland.  Dave Czorapinski, Chief of the Motor Carrier Division, accepted the Safe Highway Award on behalf of the Maryland State Highway Motor Carrier Division for incorporating technological advances to promote highway safety.  Trooper First Class Robert Iman of the Maryland State Police received the honor of Inspector of the Year for his instrumental role in the Cargo Theft Task Force.  Richard Anderson was recognized with the safety supervisor of the year award, which is being renamed in his honor for his outstanding work on behalf of the Safety Management Council and at BGE. 


Since 1935, MMTA has served the needs of every segment of the trucking industry through a wide range of informational, educational, regulatory, and legislative initiatives.  MMTA is one of the largest trucking associations in the country with over 900 member companies from across the state. 

Greenbelt Deals